Any regular team member may have one of three access rights: 1) Read-Only Access, 2) Write Access and 3) Team-Level Access.
Read-Only Access constrains any team member from creating a new Milestone / Task and / or modifying any Milestone / Task attributes, even for those under his / her responsibility. Access to SPS|PM is enabled, but only for data viewing purposes; editing is not enabled. Only a user with Team-Level Access can set Read-Only Access for another team member. For more information on how to assign Read-Only Access, see Set Access Rights under Team Management.
Write Access allows any team member to create a new Milestone / Task under his / her responsibility or for someone else’s responsibility. However, it does not allow the user to edit a Milestone / Task that is not under his / her responsibility. Write Access overwrites Read-Only Access settings. Only a user with Team-Level Access can set Write Access for another team member. For more information on how to assign Write Access, see Set Access Rights under Team Management.
Team-Level Access enables specified team members (typically team leaders, recorders and System Administrators), and also selected SPS|PM users that are not team members (such as implementation team members including SPS Technical Support representatives), to access and perform special functions on behalf of a team. Team-Level Access overwrites Write Access settings. Only a user with Team-Level Access can set Team-Level Access for another team member. For more information on how to assign Team-Level Access, see Set Access Rights under Team Management.
The following additional functionalities will be available to a user that has been granted Team-Level Access (independently of the assigned User Admin Level):
- Edit and remove Milestones / Tasks for any team member
- Commit Production Plans for the team
- Access the Manage Team menu. This includes functionalities such as change team’s name, add new team members from existing user database, change team member’s role within a team, grant / revoke Write Access for any team member, remove user from existing team, grant Team-Level Access to any user, change Planning Horizon, change Production Plan start day, review team membership list, add subscribers, etc.
- Change team calendar, including definition of holidays, partial workdays (e.g., less than 1 day), and full workdays for a particular team and / or team member
Note: Users can have Team-Level Access to more than one team. SPS|PM does not limit how many teams a single user can have Team-Level Access to.